

## NATIONAL COLLEGIATE BASEBALL WRITERS ASSOCIATION

(June 5, 2024) ncbwa.com

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Russell Luna (russell.luna@ncbwa.com

or 615-308-6245)

## TEN FINALISTS ANNOUNCED FOR 2024 NCBWA STOPPER OF THE YEAR

**DALLAS (NCBWA)** – Finalists for the 19th rendition of the NCBWA Stopper of the Year Award, given to the top relief pitcher in NCAA Division I Baseball, have been named.

Among the finalists, Texas A&M's Evan Aschenbeck (6-1, 1.64 ERA, 7 saves) and Oregon State's Bridger Holmes (3-4, 1.97 ERA, 13 saves) are on the cusp of reaching the 2024 College World Series in Omaha. Aschenbeck leads the nation with his 1.64 ERA, while Holmes' 13 saves rank third nationally.

The nation's top two save leaders reside in Conference USA. Ethan Bates of Louisiana Tech (2-1, 3.43 ERA and 17 saves) paces the nation in saves followed by Mason Burns of Western Kentucky (3-3, 4.00 and 15 saves). Other players who were previously on the 2024 midseason watch list are Duke's Charlie Beilenson (7-3, 2.01 ERA and 12 saves), East Carolina's Wyatt Lunsford-Shenkman (3-2, 1.55 ERA and 5 saves) and UC San Diego's Izaak Martinez (4-3, 1.85 ERA and 9 saves).

Other top relievers on this year's finalist list include TCU's Ben Abeldt (3-0, 1.83 ERA and 8 saves), LSU's Griffin Herring (6-1, 1.79 ERA and 6 saves) and San Diego's Conner Thurman (4-0, 1.40 ERA and 5 saves).

Eight conferences are represented with finalists, as Conference USA and the Southeastern Conference lead the way with two each. Other conferences included are the Atlantic Coast Conference, the American Athletic Conference, the Big 12 Conference, the Big West Conference. the Pac-12 Conference and the West Coast Conference.

These finalists are amongst a list of previous standout NCBWA Stoppers of the Year with Texas' J. Brent Cox, 2005; Kansas' Don Czyz, 2006; Luke Prihoda of Sam Houston State, 2007; Georgia's Joshua Fields, 2008; San Diego State's Addison Reed, 2009; Texas' Chance Ruffi, 2010; Texas' Corey Knebel, 2011; Southeastern Louisiana's Stefan Lopez, 2012; UCLA's David Berg, 2013 and 2015; Louisville's Nick Burdi, 2014; Miami (Fla.) hurler Bryan Garcia, 2016; Louisville's Lincoln Henzman, 2017; Florida's Michael Byrne, 2018; UCLA's Holden Powell, 2019; Arkansas' Kevin Kopps, 2021; Texas State's Tristan Stivors, 2022 and Oral Roberts' Cade Denton in 2023. There was no winner in 2020 due to the COVID-19-shortened season.

The Stopper of the Year recipient will be announced via a news conference on Friday, June 14, at Charles Schwab Field in Omaha.

The NCBWA, founded in 1962, presents the Dick Howser Trophy to the nation's top player and the Mike Martin National Coach of the Year to the nations top coach. It also selects All-America Teams for all Divisions, a Division I Freshman All-American team, Division I, II and III Players of the Week and Division I, II and III Players of the Year.

## NCBWA Stopper of the Year Finalists (stats as of June 5, 2024)

Player	Yr	Team (Conference)	APP	ΙP	ERA	W/L	SVs
Ben Abeldt	So.	TCU (Big 12)	26	44.1	1.83	3-0	8
Evan Aschenbeck	Sr.	Texas A&M (SEC)	26	60.1	1.64	6-1	7
Ethan Bates	Sr.	Louisiana Tech (CUSA)	36	44.2	3.43	2-1	17
Charlie Beilenson	Gr.	Duke (ACC)	34	62.2	2.01	7-3	12
Mason Burns	Sr.	Western Kentucky (CUSA)	28	36.0	4.00	3-3	15
Griffin Herring	So.	LSU (SEC)	21	50.1	1.79	6-1	6
Bridger Holmes	Jr.	Oregon State (Pac-12)	25	32.0	1.97	3-4	13
Wyatt Lunsford-Shenkman	Jr.	East Carolina (AAC)	24	46.1	1.55	3-2	5
Izaak Martinez	r-Sr.	UC San Diego (Big West)	25	63.1	1.85	4-3	9
Conner Thurman	r-Sr.	San Diego (WCC)	29	38.2	1.40	4-0	5

<sup>--</sup>NCBWA--